The Complainant, established in 2002, is - among other websites – running an online travel agency under the domain”ab-in-den-urlaub.de”. The website is known in Germany at least due to substantial efforts of the Complainant in television and online advertisement.
The Complainant has a registered trademark in Germany, "aidu.de ab in den urlaub", registered in April 2005 (see above). In 2004 the Complainant tried to register the trademark “ab-in-den-urlaub” at the German Patent Office (DPMA); the application was refused due to the missing distinctiveness of the term.
In 2000, one of the shareholders of the Respondent registered the domain in question. The domain name was first used to direct Internet users to the website at www.fewo4you.com of the Respondent. On this website, the Respondent sold and is still selling primarily vacation homes.com but also hotels and packaged holidays.
On the 24th of February 2010, the Complainant sent a cease-and-desist-letter to the Respondent, among other things asking for the transfer of the domain name. In a phone call between the inhouse counsel of the Complainant, Jan Witzmann, and Mr. Hans Jürgen Stumpf, one of the two partners of the Respondent, Mr. Stumpf asked the Complainant to offer him a sum of money for purchasing the domain, what Mr. Witzmann refused to do. After the phone call, the Respondent stopped the redirection.
|